Skip Navigation

Akufo-Addo to swear in Jean Mensa as EC Chair today

Aug. 1, 2018, 4:02 p.m.

Barring any last minute changes, President Akufo-Addo will today swear in Jean Adukwei Mensa as the new chairperson of the Electoral Commission, Graphic Online has gathered.

Also to be sworn into office today is Mr. Samuel Tettey and Dr. Eric Asare Bossman as the two deputies and Ms. Adwoa Asuama Abrefa as a member of the Electoral Commission.

The appointment and subsequent swearing in of the four will follow the advice by the Council of State Graphic Online has gathered.

The Council of State last week forwarded its advice on the four nominees to the Presidency and perusing the nomination.

A deputy Chief of Staff, Mr Abu Jinapor speaking on radio confirmed that the advice from the Council of State had been received.

An attempt by a Ghanaian citizen, Fafali Nyonator to injunct President Akuf-Addo from appointing a replacement for the removed EC commissioners was thrown out by the Supreme Court on Tuesday.

Article 46 of the 1992 Constitution which talks about the qualification and appointment of Members of the Electoral Commission states that "(1) A person is not qualified to be appointed a member of the Commission unless he is qualified to be elected as a member of Parliament."

It adds: "(2) The President shall, acting on the advice of the Council of State appoint the Chairman, Deputy Chairmen and the other members of the Commission.

This means that the appointment of EC Commissioners does not require Parliamentary approval.